Gary Seitz

News came that Gary Seitz died at the end of October.

My one paper with Gary (also Cheryl Praeger and Jan Sazl) was the proof of Sims’ conecture, stating that the order of the point stabiliser in a primitive group is bounded by any non-trivial subdegree. The proof uses the Classification of Finite Simple Groups; I recall that some of us were a bit hesitant to claim that the conjecture was proved, but Gary said we should bite the bullet. It is a theorem, we should use it.

Let me share another story. One time I was visiting the University of Oregon to work with Bill Kantor. At the same time, Martin Liebeck was visiting to work with Gary. One evening we went out to dinner together. I was put in mind of two long-married couples: Bill and I were deep in our work, Gary and Martin deep in theirs.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in mathematics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.