Group theory

I will be lecturing on group theory next semester, for the first time in a long while.

This is a Masters level course, so has to assume quite a bit of background knowledge from earlier courses. I expect that many of the students taking the course will either have forgotten this material, or never learned it in the first place.

So I have produced a set of revision notes, and put them on the web, at http://www.maths.qmul.ac.uk/~pjc/MTHM024/gtrev.pdf. The course is about finite groups, and I have compressed the background into 30 pages (largely by leaving out proofs). This is more than I want to post here, so please use the link instead.

Feel free to use the notes yourself, and please send me corrections!

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in exposition. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Group theory

  1. Pingback: Window « Log24

  2. Thanks. There are certainly not as many stained-glass windows in the notes as I would have liked (though you did pick one out, I see). Probably a 30-page guide to Chartres cathedral would not draw attention to all the stained-glass windows either!

  3. Pingback: Window, continued « Log24

  4. Thanks for the link. They are nice.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.