Apology

To my friends in the United States of America: I am sorry, but I do not expect I will be visiting you during the term of office of the current President.

This for two reasons. First, I find his policies terrifying (his encouragement of a new nuclear arms race, his disregard for the facts about climate change) or despicable (his attitude to those of different gender, skin colour, religion or sexual orientation to himself); and second, in the current climate I would be scared for my own safety in the USA (if I would even be allowed in).

It is sad to see the much-praised constitutional system of checks and balances torn up with such ease.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apology

  1. Shecky R says:

    No apology required… you are acting sensibly. Many of us in America, on-the-other-hand, DEEPLY apologize for so letting the worldwide community down.

  2. Shahrooz Janbaz says:

    I hope one day, we can give the opportunity of managing all countries to our children-They can do much better than us. They will be much better presidents and will solve all problems just by some candies. (this is My wife’s view (she is mathematician)).

  3. Jon Awbrey says:

    Nixon fired his Attorney General in 1973.
    Nixon was ousted in 1974.
    So things are on track.
    — Andy Borowitz

    Buck up, his term of office may be brief …

  4. Laurent Therond says:

    As a guest and immigrant in the great country, I am also concerned. But, no one has turned their back on me yet. Nothing has changed for me. Then again, I am Caucasian, and not usually subject to the biases and prejudices that often afflict other populations.

    Can’t blame your decision, though.

Leave a Reply

