70

The days of our years are threescore years and ten; and if by reason of strength they be fourscore years, yet is their strength labour and sorrow; for it is soon cut off, and we fly away.

So today I have achieved the days of my years; I hope that I will have strength enough to prolong them a bit, since I am enjoying myself at the moment, and don’t want to fly away just yet.

In the past year, I have put eleven papers (including one update) on the arXiv, involving 26 coauthors and totalling 292 pages. Quite a good record, I think, and one that should keep the REF accountants off my back for a while.

On my birthday, I lectured at 12 and saw a project student at 3. So I’m spending quite a bit of time on teaching as well.

And, even better: Jason Semeraro and I have nearly finished writing a paper, which I hope to write about here shortly; and on Saturday, Nicolas Thiéry and Justine Falque came to St Andrews to talk about oligomorphic permutation groups (one of my favourite topics, which is overdue a mention here) and to walk on West Sands.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 70

  1. Wilf Wilson says:

    Happy birthday Peter – and I’m especially pleased to hear that you’re enjoying yourself. I’m off sick, so unfortunately I’ll miss the birthday cake this afternoon. Best wishes for your 71st year.

  2. Shrikhande, Mohan says:

    Happy Birthday, Peter! You are a great inspiration to all of us.

    Cheers,

    Mohan

    ________________________________

  3. Duncan says:

    Happy birthday!

  4. Happy to you for the lucky number 70. There are four groups of order 70, so I wish four things for you: C_7*D_10 for your health, C_5*D_14 for your happiness, D_70 for your prosperity and C_70 for your love.
    Best wishes dear Cameron

  5. sris says:

    happy birthday.

Leave a Reply

