Happy New Year

Happy New Year

Happy New Year! But where are we headed?

As time goes on, fewer and fewer people actually visit this page, as opposed to subscribing by email or to the RSS feed, so the WordPress end-of-year report gives less information about trends. I shall probably continue writing for a bit longer.

Anyway, as I may have mentioned, there is an exciting conference coming up in July, and I hope you will think about coming!

2016 was an interesting year, the year of “post-truth”. The media commemorated a number of “celebrities” who died last year, many of these deaths leading to an outpouring of public grief. As you can imagine, the deaths which most affected me were those of George Martin and Leonard Cohen. Nearer to the bone, in the dying days of the year, were Michel Deza and Anne Street.

The coming year should see, among other things, my enumerative combinatorics notes turned into a book, more progress on finite transformation semigroups, courses for PhD students in Vienna and Brighton, and who knows what else? If as many opportunities come up as in 2016, I will be kept busy. Let’s hope that doing mathematics and going for walks keeps senility at bay for a bit longer.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. Jon Awbrey says:

    🥂🍾

  2. Shahrooz Janbaz says:

    Dear professor Cameron, Happy new year. I wish you very special time in 2017. Also, the picture of your post is so beautiful. I hope you have a lot of time to do mathematics and walking. I am waiting to see your new and valuable book about combinatorics.
    With my best wishes,
    Shahrooz.Janbaz

    • Dear Shahrooz, Thank you for these wishes. I haven’t always found the new year a positive time, but this year it is. I hope that the year brings many good things to you as well. Come to St Andrews if you can, and walk with me along the West Sands.

      • Shahrooz Janbaz says:

        Dear professor Cameron, you and other mathematicians like you, are leaders for some young people which are eager to learn mathematics. Thank you very much because of your generous and beautiful suggestion. Actually, it is my pleasure and my dream to walk with you on the sand. But, I live in Iran (and I know you like baghali polo) and it is hard for me to travel to the other country. If you decide to come to our country, I promise to you that I find a beautiful place and we walk together; I can see one of my hero in mathematics and ask a lot of question :)… Again, thank you very much because of your kindly invitation and please write for us (forever) in your blog.
        Best wishes.

  3. As I guessed, the number of views is down again this year, as it has been every year since 2013. It seems that I am writing for “followers” now rather than for casual “visitors” …

    • Jon Awbrey says:

      I don’t know how WordPress computes its stats — I suppose it would be possible to ask — but I know they have changed the format of their Reader two or three times since I came on board. As it is now, when you click on the main title or picture you visit a url that presents your post in their uniform house style:

      https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/83392/posts/1280398766

      You have to click on the little arrow labeled “visit” to get the usual url for your blog post:

      https://cameroncounts.wordpress.com/2016/12/31/happy-new-year-3/

      I don’t know if this affects the stats …

  4. José Manuel Dos Santos Dos Santos says:

    Have a Great New Year, Professor Cameron!

  5. 🙂 Happy New Year! Looking forward to reading your book on enumerative combinatorics.

  6. Salvador says:

    Professor Cameron. First I’d like to wish you a happy new year. I just found your blog and will in all likeliness keep reading it. I am also interested in seeing your book. This http://math.stackexchange.com/questions/142589/how-to-count-number-of-bases-and-subspaces-of-a-given-dimension-in-a-vector-spac brought me here. I’m sorry to hear your blog isn’t trending, however I hope you know that those who do read it are quite thankful for your work. I hope 2017 is a great year for you. Greetings from a Honduran in Göttingen

Leave a Reply

