Hermann Zapf

I learned from today’s Guardian that the type designer Hermann Zapf died last week at the age of 96.

The journalist focussed his article on Zapf’s revolutionary Dingbats font, but for me and other TeX users, his great contribution was the Palatino font, which we can easily use in LaTeX with the mathpazo package. This contains mathematical symbols matched to the text font, including elegant blackboard bold letters. I always use this font in Beamer slides now.

I don’t know how close his connection with Don Knuth and the TeX project was. I am sure I have seen him described in something by Knuth as a “grand wizard of fonts”.

So here, in his memory, is the story of the quick brown fox and the lazy dog in Palatino.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in typography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

