St Andrews to Banff

No, not 120 miles north, but several thousand miles west to Banff, Canada, home of the Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery.

I travelled south from St Andrews to London yesterday. We went first class; the cost of upgrading at weekends is very small, in this case only five pounds or so. In first class you get free wi-fi for the whole journey; while it is very slow, I did take the opportunity to check in for my flight. As I did so, I saw that Air Canada was offering me the chance to upgrade to business class for a mere 2500 pounds. Now I don’t know what they do in business class – though I was in the first row behind business class, and I didn’t hear the sounds of depravity filtering through the curtain – but it is difficult to believe that it would be worth 2500 pounds extra to arrive on the same plane at the same time.

The journey from London to Banff was almost entirely uneventful, but I note that Air Canada now expect passengers to tag their own bags, unlike every other airline I have ever travelled on, and at the same time they have forgotten how to park their planes in the right position for the gate ramp to connect, causing us a 15 minute delay after landing which nearly meant that I missed the Banff Airporter.

More later.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

