You may have noticed advertisements appearing on this blog from time to time recently.

As you might suspect, I was not consulted about this; I do not endorse any of the products and services advertised. Also, you can’t easily get rid of them since they don’t seem to have a close box.

On the other hand, the only way for me to make them disappear is to pay money to WordPress.

The advertisements are fairly inocuous compared to some things that are happening on the web at the moment. I think I dislike blackmail more than I disapprove of these advertisements, so they will probably continue to appear.

Anyway, apologies for this.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in the Web and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Advertisements

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Those advertisements are WordPress’ way of bringing in revenue.

    I do not endorse any of the products that are advertised on my page either!

  2. By coincidence, today Diamond Geezer gives his six-monthly reaction to people who send him marketing emails, some of which offer him money to put a link on his blog (which doesn’t even have to be prominent enough for people to click on; the purpose is to improve your Google rank).

  3. xi'an says:

    I actually found some of the advertisements borderline so I decided to pay the $20 something per year to get rid of them! But I now include transparent associate links to amazon, so that just means moving from one obvious type of advertising to a more invisible one…

Leave a Reply

