Replacing me

In my letter to the Head of School at QMUL announcing my retirement, I expressed the hope that the School could use what it was saving on my salary to appoint two good young mathematicians.

Despite that, they decided to try to appoint a professor instead. (I had no role in this decision, and didn’t want any.)

In the end, none of the short-listed candidates was appointed.

Now a lectureship is advertised and has been labelled as my replacement. It is an odd situation to be in, and of course I have mixed feelings, but I hope for the best. If you would like to step figuratively into my shoes, please apply; the advertisement is here. Good luck, and if you get the job, I hope we can interact fruitfully!

If that is not appropriate for you, please pass the information on.

Again, to be quite clear, I have no role in the appointment procedure. It is vital for a mathematics department not to live on its history. Brilliant research and teaching should be the only things that matter.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

