A new look

I’ve known for a long time that it is a bit hypocritical to run a blog which (among other things) grumbles about the ubiquity of sans-serif fonts, when the default body text font is sans-serif. So finally I have got around to changing things.

I simply chose a WordPress theme with a serif font as default, slotted it in, and left everything else the same (or as near the same as possible).

Hope you like it. Please let me know if there are things that don’t work.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in typography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A new look

  1. First problem: this style does quotes in italic. So when I use the “blockquote” tag to display mathematics, the non-italic text is changed to italic, and (for reasons which I do not understand) the italic changes to non-italic.

    Does anyone have any ideas for a fix?

    • Jon Awbrey says:

      I used to use table formatting, since that normally works on other sites with annoying features built into the CSS for blockquotes, but WordPress has a glitch of adding a light line at the top of a table.

      So lately I’ve been using markups like [p style=”margin-left:30px;”]

      See this page for examples.

    • Jon Awbrey says:

      As far as the italics go, that is the usual convention in typography — italicization is an involution. Though it seems to work better in print than it does on the screen.

      • A little experimentation showed that WordPress doesn’t treat italicization as an involution: if it did, it would simply be a case of switching italics at the beginning and end of each display. But your method of setting a margin-left works, thanks. (I didn’t know that trick!)

        Now the job for the long winter evenings will be to fix all the previous posts.

  2. Nigel White says:

    Also if you have set the option to receive new posts as an e-mail as I do, this e-mail is still in the default (sans-serif) font. It was only when I actually opened the blog proper that I could see the change.

  3. Joseph Nebus says:

    Well, now you’ve got me all fussing over how to change the typeface on my blog, although if there’s an easy way to change that on the Under The Influence theme I haven’t found it yet.

Leave a Reply

