Two decisions

End of term at last, and for me it has been one of the most stressful terms I have had. But, since I decided to retire, the stress has been very much less. As we are bombarded by workload allocation models, performance targets, REF dry run feedback, and so on, I can simply give a shrug and ignore it all. I feel sorry for causing several of my colleagues to be jealous; but nobody has suggested that I haven’t done the right thing.

I have made very few career decisions in my life. Almost always, the next stage was obvious, and I just took the opportunity that came along. Really there was only one decision that cost me any thought. When I was a post-doc in Oxford, I turned down my first offer of a permanent job. It was late winter or early spring, just as this year. Here is something I wrote at the time.

On the first warm day
I walked humbly under the basking
    old wall of the cathedral
I watched the ghosts’ futile races
    along the iron fences in the meadow
I heard a lazy clarinet scarce deigning
    to slide from one note to another
    under the horse chestnut in the college
I heard the corkscrew songs of birds
    chase me past whitewash and late daffodils.
Suddenly aware of happiness
I knew my decision was right.

Not the finest writing ever, but I think that, despite the minimalist punctuation, it is clear (apart possibly from the word “ghosts”, which refers to moiré patterns – I didn’t know the word then, but I think the metaphor is OK), and to me it speaks very accurately of how I know that a decision is right. The words of the poem bring back the images of that day more than forty years ago remarkably clearly.

There are some differences this time: I still have daffodils, though no cathedrals or whitewash; and, more important, the realisation has not been sudden, but gradual (though no less compelling). Maybe my mind moves more slowly now.

As a postscript, after my run-in with Health and Safety over the state of my office, a very important envelope went missing; I apologise sincerely to colleagues who were seriously inconvenienced by this. On the other hand, my study at home is in a similar state, but I just walked in and put my hand on the folder containing the forty-year-old piece of paper with the words I have just quoted.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two decisions

  1. Luis Guzman says:

    Enjoy your retirement!

  2. dratman says:

    Freed happiness in the once-was,
    Relief in the is-now,
    Many songs yet unsung.[1]

    ______
    [1] translated from the original ms in ancient
    Geek

  3. Laurent says:

    And I keep reading your blog and I wonder…if reason cannot triumph, if the brave retires, what will be of the future, if not the past repeated untrue.

    No matter what, for my selfish interest, do not stop blogging.

Leave a Reply

