The Monkees

The Monkees were arguably the first “boy band”, formed not by friends getting together and playing in dodgy venues but recruited by a high-profile television producer.

I played in a band when I was a student. We were a bit contemptuous of the Monkees, and gave credence to the rumours that they couldn’t play their instruments but just mimed on the show. (In fact we were quite snobbish. We believed that Ringo didn’t know how to play the drums. Nobody listening to “A day in the life” could think that!) But we had to come to terms with the Monkees because, wherever we played, people would request “I’m a believer”. I have to admit it is not a bad song (though I think they didn’t write it), but in fact I prefer “Last train to Clarksville” – nice opening riff!

Now Davy Jones is dead.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Monkees

  1. Jon Awbrey says:

    Here are some of my favorite riffs —

    http://oeis.org/wiki/Riffs_and_Rotes

    Just free associating, as usual …

Leave a Reply

