Another hard-luck story

This is a frivolous title for a serious topic. The Abdus Salam School of Mathematical Sciences (ASSMS) in Lahore is a world-class mathematics research centre in Pakistan. I just learned that it is facing the threat of losing between half and three-quarters of its funding.

Clearly the school will not be able to continue to function with such a cut. Foreign staff will leave, and are unlikely to return should better times come. As in so depressingly many similar situations, it is not possible to turn off the tap and then restore the status quo later.

My informant, Professor Arnfinn Laudal, intends to get international bodies such as the IMU and UNESCO involved. What can we do? I don’t know. I am unaware of any campaign to help. If anyone does know, please let me know.

This might seem a very small matter when compared to the vast human disaster in Pakistan at present. But, unlike the floods, this is entirely preventable. If this institute is lost, the governments that have killed it off will be to blame.

About Peter Cameron

I count all the things that need to be counted.
This entry was posted in maybe politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another hard-luck story

  1. Haris Aziz says:

    I have been away from Lahore for the last five years but I have been hearing positive news concerning ASSMS. Therefore, it was disappointing to learn that their budget is being cut.

    It is great that you have brought this up. I will be glad if I can assist in some way.

Leave a Reply

